22
May
07

Pilates…Oh My!

Today I had my first workout in what felt like years. I’m doing it in two parts and I just finished the first. I tried pilates and I could barely do the moves but it was fantastic. I tried very hard and I am so proud of myself for the effort. It was awesome, I broke a sweat and everything. I can’t wait to do it again tomorrow.

I am using the Pilates beginning mat workout by GAIAM with Ana Cabán. Ana makes you feel comfortable and she is so non-threatening. She gives you a sense of being in your body and you want to do better, to meet the challenge. Joseph Pilates says the following and I am going to hold him to it:

  1. 10 Sessions – feel better
  2. 20 Sessions – look better
  3. 30 Sessions – new body

By the 30th session I will have the routine perfected. I am really so excited. Probably more because I didn’t make up some excuse not to exercise and I followed through. I mean, I looked ridiculous, but I feel good now. This is actually making me cry. I weigh so much and most of the time I can’t see the other side but today I can see. This sounds so cliche, but today is the first day of… a new attitude, a new purpose, a new thought process; it has taken me a long time to get here. My determination has become so palpable I can almost touch it. Things are going to change for me now…I AM A HEALTHY BODY

I also want to thank all of you guys who take the time out of your busy day to read what I write; I don’t feel so alone. Thanks so much.

This afternoon is part two – treadmill, elliptical machine or both. Wish me luck!

5 Responses to “Pilates…Oh My!”


  1. May 22, 2007 at 7:09 pm

    Ugh – this stuff is so hard. GOOD FOR YOU! 🙂

  2. May 22, 2007 at 7:53 pm

    Thanks! It was until today. Today it became easy because that is the way I am choosing to see it. Thanks so much for stopping by.

  3. 3 McCormick
    May 22, 2007 at 11:22 pm

    Pilates has been known to open a can of whoop-ass on me! Good luck and I know you’ll keep it up.

  4. May 23, 2007 at 1:27 am

    Been getting into Pilates again…I really need to keep it up this time 😉 Best wishes!

  5. May 25, 2007 at 1:02 pm

    I’ve exercised everyday since Tuesday and am very proud. Thanks everyone for all your well wishes.


Leave a Reply

