23
May
07

Even my hair hurts

Everything on my body hurts right now. I did part two of my exercise last night before I went to class (I started taking a graphic design class last night). I was good for 10 minutes on the treadmill which is great because I only expected to be able to do 2-5minutes. That was not the end of my workout, I drove to class and had to park far from the school, which in the grand scheme of things is a good thing. I parked, scarfed down my dinner ( a Wendy’s Chicken Caesar Salad (no croutons and I make my own dressing) and headed off to class.

First, I had to climb a hill to get to the first building only to find out that my class is “Up the Hill” in the other building. Needless to say I was virtually out of breath by the time I got to the 2nd building. My purse became a 15lb. weight, I almost left it on the sidewalk to fend for itself. I felt like Fred Flinstone working in the rock quarry. Once I got to the top of the steps of course I had to sit my ass down to catch my breath; all of a sudden I break out in a sweat like you wouldn’t believe.  Finally, I walk through the front door sweating like a sow on the run in eastern North Carolina in the middle of summer — where it is so damn hot, you can see the heat. It is not a “Dry Las Vegas Heat,”  which I’ve never quite understood; when I went to Vegas it was hot as hell and I was no more comfortable. I’m just an air conditioning kind of girl. In other words, I like the Fall.

Anyway, when I finally get my parking pass and reader card, I ask where my class is located and of course it’s on the 2nd floor which at this point seems like the 100th floor. As I wiped the sweat from my brow once again I asked is there an elevator? YES was the answer. Thank You God.

So, class lets out at 9:30pm, I walk to my car, stop at the local Walgreens and head home. Inside my front door and the first thing I see are stairs, my nemisis for the night. Up the steps I go; I fell into my bed. I couldn’t get comfortable, every position hurt and I had a difficult time falling asleep, but, I did.

Waking up the next morning I knew there would be some aching, but I couldn’t unbend stuff. The only things that didn’t hurt were my eyes, but I got up and started my day knowing that exercise would be on the to-do list. And I did, Yea Me!

2 Responses to “Even my hair hurts”


  1. May 30, 2007 at 1:03 am

    Yea, You, is right! Way to go!

    Starting new fitness habits can cause some discomfort, in both body and mind. The end result, however, is well worth the effort.

    Pilates is a great way of exercise. I go to a Pilates class a couple of times a month. I tell people that if I had to start my fitness/weight loss quest over again, I would start with Pilates.

    It’s amazing how many little muscles you have that you weren’t aware of be fore now, isn’t it?

    🙂

    Brian

  2. May 30, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    Hey Brian:

    Thanks!
    Pilates is kicking my butt and it needs to be kicked.


Leave a Reply

