29
May
07

Weekend Observations

I am obese and I know it. I don’t shy away from it or pretend that I don’t see it. No one has ever made a rude comment to my face or been mean to me, partly because I wouldn’t tolerate being treated with anything other than respect. However, this Memorial Day weekend and over the last couple of weeks I have noticed little things that people do that I never really paid attention to before.

  1. Some people look at you with disdain while others smile the sweetest smiles. I guess that must be pity. Which pisses me off, because I don’t want anyone to pity me because I don’t pity myself.
  2. My family loves me, but at times they encourage me to be sedentary. It’s like sometimes they don’t want me to move because they are afraid it will hurt me or give me a great deal of discomfort. I love them, but they have got to stop it NOW. Since I have started an exercise program, I will have a great deal of discomfort until I lose some weight and my body adjusts. Please stop loving me to death.
  3. Some men are just Fucking Rude, their egos are so gi-normous. They won’t hold the door for FAT women which is absolutely insane to me. I am at a point in my life where MEN are the furthest thing from my mind, but when I do start dating again, I feel sorry for the first man in my life after the fat. He will probably catch hell; here and now I officially apologize for my bad behavior.
  4. People in certain restaruants really do look at you while you eat; I’ve heard of this, but never thought it really happened. It’s like you have no right to sit down with your family and friends to enjoy a meal. I don’t even think it’s about what you are eating, I think it’s the fact that you have the audacity to put a fork up to your mouth and actually eat anything at all — when there a children starving in Africa. They look at you like sustenance for you is extra. Give me a fucking break and get over yourselves…there but for a bout of depression, a really really bad breakup, a dibilitating accident or illness, or a sudden desire to just eat everything within eyesight goes you. Remember, most of the people in this country are FAT!

Believe it or not, I had a great weekend! I don’t let what someone else thinks of or about me control who I am or what I do. It just doesn’t matter enough for me to be concerned.

2 Responses to “Weekend Observations”


  1. May 31, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    I have noticed on the bus that people will not move their things out of the seat beside them for me, but will for smaller people; and that men won’t get up and offer their seat to me (not that I expect them too but they will do it for smaller women). Grim.
    Love your journal, first time commenter! 🙂

  2. May 31, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    Hey Alice:
    Doesn’t that just piss you off? It’s like give me a break dude, do you not have any home training. They make you want to scream at them, “Don’t be a jerk all your life.”
    Thanks for stopping by and commenting, I really appreciate it.
    Take care, CF


Leave a Reply

