01
Jun
07

Drum Roll Please….Introducing, The Chaotic Fat Move-A-Thon

It’s a move-a-thon people….move that ass, come on, you can do it. Self-motivation is the name of this game. If you are beginning an exercise program after years of living a sedentary lifestyle (like me) and are used to rewarding your couch potato behind with “Chips & Salsa” because you walked 10 steps to the fridge, this move-a-thon is for you! 

That’s exactly where I am right now. I am trying to move as much as I can, for instance, I sit at a desk in my office all day, but I have music playing all the time and one day I just got up and started dancing. No-one can see me, the door is closed and the music isn’t very loud. It was awesome! So I do it everyday, I just get up and start dancing when the music strikes me. I also have a set of resistance tubes that I use for strength training a couple times a week. I’m getting it together folks…

I have a five week treadmill goal. I walk on the treadmill everyday, my starting time was 10 minutes — that’s it, that’s all, back pain, labored breathing, etc. So I decided to create the “5 Week Treadmill Challenge.” I have to increase my time by 5 minutes each week. At week 5 I should be walking for 30 minutes each day. When I reach my goal, I will reward myself with a big fat juicy piece of IPod pie!!!! That’s the whole reason for the contest, I figure if I want a new IPod, I have to earn it.

Now I have to figure out what to do on the weekends. I really like to sleep on Saturdays and Sundays and its hard breaking that habit. But, this weekend I start a another graphic design class that begins on Saturday so that will help kick start my weekend move-a-thon. I don’t want to get too ambitious and burn out, so for right now, just being up and out of the house on a Saturday morning is huge. I’ll figure it out. In the meantime, start your own move-a-thon and maybe I will use one of your ideas. I look forward to hearing about them real soon.

3 Responses to “Drum Roll Please….Introducing, The Chaotic Fat Move-A-Thon”


  1. June 2, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    I have a hard time on the weekends too!! One thing that does help me is just to get dressed, instead of lounging in my PJs, its like putting on regular clothes and shoes makes me feel more ready to go. Another trick I play on myself is to say “oh I’ll do this for five minutes” and then once I’ve started something I’m like, well I’ve already started this, might as well finish!! 🙂
    Have a good weekend!

  2. June 5, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    I love your blog! 🙂 (adding it to my blogroll so I can visit often) I “fidget” a LOT ever since I started my healthy eating plan. I dance in the car, I stretch, do leg lifts and do arm curls with the stapler in my cubicle. I even do some standing donkey kicks and countertop push ups while waiting for the microwave. Every little bit helps! I’ve lost 80ish so far, about 70ish to go. I fell off the exercise wagon last week for a bit (wiped out by a HUGE Harry Potter party we hosted the weekend before last) – but this week I am getting back on track and hope to be up to my 30 minutes 5 days a week (stationary bike or walking). I have a new thingy called Fluidity – but it’s a workout just trying to get it out of the box, once I do I am looking forward to trying it out. Keep Dancing! Lady Rose

  3. June 5, 2007 at 7:44 pm

    Hey Lady Rose. Congratulations on your 80lbs. weight loss. That is awesome! Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

    I am doing anything I can to move as much as possible until some of this fat stomach is out of the way so that it is easier to function. I’ll get there, I’m confident of that.

    Take care and come back soon–CF


Leave a Reply

