21
Jun
07

Experiencing the Joy of Food

Over the past 5 years I have learned to eat well. I have always loved fruits and vegetables, but now I experiment more with different varieties of both as well as healthy grains. I eat five meals a day which is great because I never feel like I am starving myself for weight loss. I have learned to eat healthy snacks such as raw almonds, dried fruit, dried peas w/wasabi, wasa crackers, different lowfat cheeses, etc. and I keep a large bowl of fruit on my desk at work. So you see, I am working very hard to make sure I give myself the best possible chance to live and be healthy. However, portion control can be an issue, but I have learned to use smaller dishes, elegant place settings and other little things that trick the mind. I also noticed that at times I eat really fast and don’t get to experience the joy and euphoria that can be a part of a beautiful meal.

events_gourmet_0201a.jpg

I’m trying to look at food differently, to think of it as more than just sustenance. I want every meal to be a joyous experience. I want every meal to be as good as an orgasam. When I go to the Fresh Market or Whole Foods or Earth Fare or the Farmers Market all of my senses come alive with the beauty of the fruits and vegetables, the fish and chicken (I absolutely adore chicken—I know, you don’t have to say it) and I want to have that same feeling when I actually eat the food. I want to be more “in the moment” when I eat, more aware of simply chewing the food and more aware of the different textures of foods. I just want to experience the joy of the foods I eat and to stop taking it for granted.

5 Responses to “Experiencing the Joy of Food”


  1. June 22, 2007 at 1:28 am

    i never thought about this in this way. i do know i’m more prone to enjoy/be in the moment when i don’t get to a point when i’m ravenously hungry. i like chicken too but i do tire of it quickly. keep us posted on this one.

  2. June 23, 2007 at 11:37 am

    Orgasm and food — works for me! LOL Lady Rose

  3. June 23, 2007 at 9:33 pm

    Chaotic: I would borrow range clubs and hit at the driving range for awhile then start talking to people. I actually went to a golf school in n. carolina a couple summers and the second summer I got fitted for my clubs. Just find a local club with a pro shop and ask lots and lots of questions. My first set I pieced together from consignment shops (play it again sports…do you have one in your area?).

    i played 18 yesterday and it was GREAT, the exercise, fresh air, company and scenery. Get out there and hit some balls baby! (wait…that came out wrong…) 🙂 hope you’re having a GREAT weekend!


Leave a Reply

