27
Jun
07

Sleepless in…

If you ever want to meet a night owl, knock on my door at 2:00, 3:00 or 4:00 am and you are likely to find me awake. I used to be able to function on very little sleep but now, not getting enough sleep is kicking my ass—I am so tired all of the time. I also have the problem of waking up several times during the night…peeing is the main event on these occasions.  My doctor perscribed sleeping pills, but I’m apprehensive about taking them because I don’t want to get addicted. You always hear such horror stories about people getting adddicted to crap and it’s frightening. The few times I have taken them, either I wake up feeling seriously drugged or still tired. I’ve tried to get on a schedule, but that isn’t working and now that I am exercising I need more energy to sustain my workouts so that I can increase and expand my activities.  Sometimes for lunch I lock my door, turn everything off and take a nap because usually between 2:30 and 3:00 pm I find myself nodding off, I mean seriously nodding off; I have even just fallen asleep in my chair, it’s crazy.

This is one of the reasons I am practically comatose on the weekends; my body is tired and trying to catch up on sleep. I’ve started taking a multivitamin, hopefully that will help and I am going to try to go to sleep at the same time everynight for the next 30 days to see if I can form a sleep habit and I am going to leave the television in the “Off” position.

I think this is hampering my efforts to lose weight and if I am going to meet my goal, I have to fix this. If anyone has any suggestions, I welcome them.

9 Responses to “Sleepless in…”


  1. June 27, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    You sound like you have DSPS (Delayed Sleep Phase Syndrome). See Wikipedia’s article on it for more details.

  2. June 27, 2007 at 6:09 pm

    Hey EC: Thanks for the info. I have a couple of the symptons, but not all. For instance, I don’t have a problem getting up in the morning; I may be tired but I get up with the alarm or I just wake up on my own.

    I will bring this up to my doctor the next time I see her.

    Take care, CF

  3. 3 southernfriedfatty
    June 28, 2007 at 12:47 am

    You also might want to ask your doctor about sleep apnea. You can do a web search on it and find tons of info. It is a very common problem. Especially among overweight people that carry their weight in the middle part of their body (apple body type.) I’m no expert but bascically you stop breathing in your sleep and this causes you to wake up. I think to fully diagnose you have to have a sleep study done (spend the night in a lab connected to monitors) but there are ways to treat it (do a search on: cpap machine). I know several people that have had this problem.

  4. June 28, 2007 at 4:06 pm

    I’ll stop over LOL I”m always up that time of time (usually blogging).

    But on a more serious note — perhaps a trip to a sleep clinic would help. Or a new mattress. Or some camomile tea. Or “white” noise – like a fan on. A nice meditation tape at bedtime. I like Stephen Halperns healing music cds – very relaxing (no voice, just music that is done with healing tones).

    But you should get your rest – it’s important to overall good health not just weight loss – so talk to your doctor if “home” remedies dont’ work.

    If I think of anything else that might help I’ll pop back over with a comment.

    Take care, Lady Rose

  5. June 28, 2007 at 4:43 pm

    Thanks so much for all of your advice, I really appreciate it.

    Take care, CF

  6. June 29, 2007 at 5:43 am

    Sounds like I was reading my own thoughts. I have a bottle of sleeping pills by my bedside – and try not to take them. I did find when I weighed my highest I was taking them – now that I have lost 25 pounds in my journey, I am not relying on them. I am sleeping better – and it feels good not waking up feeling drunk. You can give me a call anytime at 4am! 🙂 Great blog by the way – will be stopping in again to see how you are doing.

  7. June 29, 2007 at 5:13 pm

    hey lady, sending you good vibes for finding a solution soon and getting some good shut eye! i think everyone goes through some insomnia at different times, but sleep is so delicious! get that thing worked out!

  8. June 29, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    Christine: Thanks for stopping by. Congratulations on the 25lbs, you look great.

    Runchilde: Thanks for the good vibes. I am hoping to get this under control before I go insane from sleep deprivation.

    Take care all, CF

  9. April 24, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    If your tween is into paint-ball you can take everyone to play paint-ball.
    I’ve played Nancy Drew for years and even her saccharine personality is more 3D than Lindsay or ‘Linds’) as she calls herself. Cranberry studios developed this sequel while publisher Anaconda brings it to you in stores.


Leave a Reply

