21
Aug
07

A Satisfying Treat…

I love watching cooking shows and one of my favorites is “The Barefoot Contessa.” Ina Garten is a lovely woman who happens to be overweight, is soft spoken and cooks for friends and family, but mainly for her man. Ina plys him with wonderful dishes. She seems warm and charming and I always want to give her a big ChaoticFat hug—I give great hugs btw.

The other day she made this dessert using strawberries, balsamic vinegar, sugar and some kind of fancy schmancy custard looking thing in the center. Well I love balsamic vinegar so I thought hmmm….strawberries, let me put my own spin (because I don’t really cook and trying to make the fancy schmancy custard is out of the question) on it and see if I can make it healthy. So here are my ingredients

  1. Strawberries (6-8 halved or quartered if you like)
  2. Balsamic Vinegar (any brand you like)
  3. Splenda or Stevia
  4. Fage Greek Yogurt (fat free of course, this is yummy delicious!)

In a bowl, place cut strawberries, add several drops of balsamic vinegar (cover, don’t saturate strawberries), sprinkle 1/2 or 1 whole packet of Splenda and then mix with a spoon. You can let it stand in the fridge for a while or not; I like to just go at it so the strawberries are still firm.—I can’t eat any fruit or veggie that’s not firm. If you’ve made a large bowl, scoop some fruit into a smaller bowl and add a dollop or two (up to you) of the Fage yogurt. Make sure you take the paper off the top and thoroughly stir the yogurt before adding to fruit.

This is such a great treat, try it and see.

dessert1.gif

1 Response to “A Satisfying Treat…”


  1. August 22, 2007 at 4:14 am

    Hmm, sounds really nice. I love cooking shows too – but I seem to be hooked on Jamie Oliver. I seem to have a bit of a crush on him, lol!


Leave a Reply

